The seven chakras

The Seven Chakras

What are Chakras

The chakras are energy centres in your body, and each chakra corresponds to certain nerves and major organs. In Sanskrit, the word ‘Chakra’  means; disk’ or ‘wheel’

There are seven main chakras that run along your spine. They start at the root, or base, of your spine and extend to the crown of your head.

In order for the chakras to function at their best they need to stay balanced. An unbalanced or blocked Chakra can lead to negativity and emotional or physical symptoms.

What are the Seven Chakras

The Root Chakra – Muladhaar Chakra (First Chakra)- symbolizes safety, survival, grounding, and nourishment from the Earth energy. Note that in chakra healing practices, red may denote inflammation at the physical level.

Location: Base of Spine

Colour Red

Element: Earth

The Sacral Chakra – Svadhisthana (Second Chakra) – carries meanings associated with emotions, creativity, and sexuality

Location: Sacral

Colour: Orange

Element: Water

The solar plexus chakra – Manipura (third Chakra) symbolizes mental activities, intellect, personal power, and willpower.

Location: Solar Plexus

Colour: Yellow

Element: Fire

The Heart chakra – Anahata (fourth Chakra); it is connected with love, relating, integration, and compassion.

Location: Chest

Colour: Green

Element: Air

The Throat chakra – Vishuddha (fifth Chakra); symbolizes self-expression, expression of truth, creative expression, communication, perfect form and patterns.

Location: Throat

Colour: Sky Blue

Element: Air

The Third Eye chakra – Ajna (sixth Chakra); evokes intuition, extrasensory perception, and inner wisdom

Location: between the two eyebrows

Colour: Purple

Element: Light

The Crown chakra – Sahasrara (seventh Chakra); it’s associated with the universal, connection with spirituality, and consciousness.

Location: just above the crown of the skull

Colour: White or Violet

Element: Space

Why do Chakras become blocked

Habits such as poor physical alignment or posture, eating unhealthy food, or self-destructive behaviour may cause a chakra to be imbalanced

How can you unblock your Chakras

There are various ways to unblock the Chakras including

  • Meditation
  • Yoga postures
  • Mudras

If you would like to read more about how to unblock the Chakras using yoga and mudras, please take a look at my E-book on Amazon Kindle